Just Three Hours Before Race Time

I’m lying here on a couch trying to calm my nerves and conserve energy. I’m down a hall away from where everything is happening. Looking at my phone before writing this I realized what day it is, May 14.

Just six months ago was Midwest Regional for Cross Country. I said earlier that there is no such thing as a perfect race but that may have been perfect. The weather was excellent for running. I felt loose and I left it all on the line knowing I wouldn’t race again. I’m trying to remember how I felt then and get in the same state of mind. The problem is I can’t remember what that state of mind was.

I’ve had an incredible year and now I am one race away from having a great ending. My last cross country race I PR’d. My last indoor race I PR’d. Now I have my last outdoor race. Can I do it again?

Leave a Reply

