Night Before the Meet

As I promised I am writing one last time tonight from the hotel room. We’re on the third floor in humid Springfield, Illinois. The air conditioner is doing a good job of chilling the room I am sharing with steeplechasers Ryan Hanus and Jay Sparks and mid-distance runner Matt Hoffman.

This time tomorrow my career is over. One last chance to have the perfect run although I know that doesn’t exist. 15 years comes down to a sub 40 minute race.

I have often been able to come up with a top time in a big race. Now it’s that moment again and I have to come up big. Every time I am nervous. How many rabbits can I possibly pull out of my hat? Hopefully one more. Tomorrow we’ll find out at 3:15.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Derek Rubis on May 14, 2010 at 3:43 am

    I will be there root for you in spirit

    Reply

Leave a Reply

