Traveling Down the Center of Illinois

There are windmills dotting the landscape here. It’s like northern Dodge County down here. The cloud cover is making it seem later than it really is. This is a long trip. The only farther trip in the conference is to Grinnell College and that is only by a handful of miles.

I recently added up all of the miles I have traveled one way to the places we have ran. It’s over 10,000 miles. I’ve been to eight states in these four years and have stayed at hotels around 20 times.

It has been absolutely exhausting at sometimes. Time of great excitement and agonizing defeat. None of which I would never trade for the world.

I’ve been very lucky to be a part of this. And 60 hours from now it’s all over. I have unfortunately not cherished it like I should. Now with double digit hours I’m supposed to cherish them. The problem is I have no clue what that means. You’d think nearly 22.5 years of life could teach you that but it doesn’t.

Looking back on the teams I have been a part of and I have never cherished them enough whether they have worn black (Orioles and White Sox), red (Reds and Lakers), or blue (Vikings). This team I know is special. It’s good, it’s dangerous to race against in Waukesha (all national qualifying times have come at home), it’s exciting and they are a very close knit unit. Almost every one likes hangoing around one another.

This final year has been my favorite by far. The younger members of the team treat me better than I should be. I don’t really know why. I may be one of the most veteran runners but I’m not even close to being good. Putting it all on the line has worked for me. Tomorrow I have my last chance to do it in a Carroll uniform.

I’ll just end this now since I have no clue how to end it and I don’t want to ramble. I’ll get back to watching “The Blind Side” and traveling through the flat countryside of Illinois. I’ll probably write again tonight.

Leave a Reply

